In 2012, Oaklands Park became a member of the SENTIENT Trust. This co-operative Trust is formed of all of Devon's maintained special schools. Our partners include the Co-operative Schools & College Trust and Devon County Council. The Trust includes nine other special schools in Devon; Ratcliffe, Marland, Barley Lane, Bidwell Brook, Ellen Tinkham, Lampard, Millwater, Pathfield and Southbrook.

The Trust, which is the first of its kind in the UK, exists to promote excellent education and care for children and young people who attend special schools in the county.

SENTIENT is managed by a board of Trustees, which comprises headteachers and governors from all of Devon's special schools, with representatives of our partner organisations.